I am Loddy…

…Just another white boy with a blog about geeking out and living life.

Helena

…Helena is the codename name of the latest Linux Mint edition which, as yet, is not out yet. this is because it is released a couple of weeks after its corresponding version of the foundation distro ‘Ubuntu’ is made available. This I presume is for the sake of courtesy and also keeping an eye on bugs perhaps.

I’m eager to see the way this ‘Karmic Koala’ based Mint will handle, because Linux Mint was the perfect distro for me and my Acer Apire One. Everything except the Wireless LED light worked out of the box for my netbook and that was what I was after. Now that I had a linux distro that worked, I could spend as much time getting used to terminal commands and all the other jargon that comes with Linux.

I’ve read that MintInstall will now have an uninstall feature -which will help users who aren’t too sure about synaptic- which I remember wondering about (as in, why wasn’t it there in Mint 7?). So as Ubuntu Karmic Koala is out, it’s only a matter of days til Lint Mint 8 is upon us, stay tuned for my review!

Leave a Reply

